#23 Instruments | The Daily Doodle

One band, one sound.

Today’s doodle is about instruments.

I have a long history with instruments. I first played the viola, aka the violin’s prettier sister, throughout middle school. It was a wonderful instrument that allowed me to express my budding teenage angst.

In college, I was gifted a baby Taylor guitar and taught myself how to play 'Turning Tables' by Adele. My little sister would sing while I finger-picked through the tune. I adored the way we laughed when one of us messed up a lyric or strummed the wrong chord.

Today, as a twenty-something-none-of-ya-bizness, I discovered a musical appreciation for the aslatau. It’s definitely the Tinder Swindler of percussion instruments; you know, travels a lot and is known by different names across the globe.

I know what you’re thinking, “Holy cannoli! She’s like Prince! How can she play so many instruments?”. The truth is that I suck at all of them! I have just enough rhythm and a smidge of understanding of music theory to make a tune.

I play (slick hoard) instruments because I savor the moment when I can have a spontaneous jam with others, whether it’s a drum circle, and I pull out the djembe, or a belly dance hafla, and I play with the zills.

Today’s invitation:

You don’t have to know how to play to appreciate the music. I invite you to share your favorite instrument and why. Maybe you will inspire my next purchase.

Enjoying The Daily Doodle?

Share your honest sentiment to make us better.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.