#36 Yu-Gi-Oh! | The Daily Doodle

This doodle was not inspired by Squirtle.

Today’s doodle is about Yu-Gi-Oh.

Anyone else in awe that Pokémon is still a phenomenon? Growing up, I invested my energy in the wrong franchise.

I'm not talking about Digimon or Tamagotchi. I was a Yu-Gi-Oh! kid, slinging cards across the room to summon spells.

It makes me wonder why some things become tradition while others are left to the test of time. Classics like Barbie, Pokémon, and Easy Bake Oven are cultural moments. If you didn't ride the initial wave, you risk missing the charm.

To this day, I don't understand the game and never played Pokémon Go. Maybe it's in solidarity with the inner Yu-Gi-Oh! kid who enjoyed going against the grain.

Today’s invitation:

What cultural moments did you enjoy as a kid? Transport us to a different time where our only choices were which level of difficulty to play on Guitar Hero.

Enjoying The Daily Doodle?

Share your honest sentiment to make us better.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.