#43 Commercials | The Daily Doodle

Get it before it's gone!

Today’s doodle is about commercials.

I never skipped commercials growing up. Not for the entertainment factor, but for the thrill of analyzing the context behind what they’re selling and how. I imagined a room filled with adults plotting how to sell more recliners and household cleaners.

Commercials opened my mind to questioning why dinner roll companies show a family by the dinner table, while toy commercials depict kids running wild without a parent telling them no.

One of the most painstakingly hilarious styles of commercials are the flash sale, one-day-only, going-going-gone type commercials. I can still hear the commercials now, enticing me with an inground pool in the winter for $39,999 or convincing me to snag a $499 pure leather recliner before it’s gone.

Today’s invitation:

Commercials are an interesting window into our culture. Do you have a commercial (or a type of commercial) that sticks out to you?

Enjoying The Daily Doodle?

Share your honest sentiment to make us better.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.